Haitian Music Industry (HMI) fans took to social media last night to express their disappointment with the first HMI Music Award show organized by Miss Boss. The show drew heavy criticisms from the public as well as well-respected entertainers such as Carel Pedre who could not fathom the lack of professionalism of the HMI Music Awards’ crew. Subsequently, he posted a picture of his PleziKanaval 2015 Award venue to insinuate the proper way to GET IT DONE. Fans were displeased with the infamous “white backdrop,” the red carpet, the stage presentation, and the lack of dress code enforcement. However, it is imperative to consider the impact of the late change of location from the Parker Playhouse in Fort Lauderdale to Hollywood, which proved to be catastrophic since it occurred at the very last minute. Moreover, rumors have it that supporters backed out at the last minute leaving Miss Boss hanging.

Nevertheless, many high profile entertainers such as Lòlò and Manzè (Boukman Eksperyans), DedKra-Z and Princess Eud, Izolan, Shassy, Dj Roger (Mèt Dèlmas), Mikaben, Power Surge, Haitian Buju (King Posse) and many more talented acts attended the event. It was an evening filled with entertainment. Though execution suffered, Miss Boss took a great initiative to further the HMI. There is no doubt she will learn from this gaffe and continue to work hard to deliver a much better show the time around.

Here are some of the pictures from the show:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


Here are the Winners

  • Konpa Album of the Year: Fe’l ak Tout Kè’w by Klass
  • Konpa Band of The Year: Klass 
  • Best Upcoming Band: Rylax 
  • Le Roi Du Konpa Love: Alan Cave 
  • Outstanding Achievement Award: Rodney Noel
  • Lead Vocalist of the Year: Flav 
  • International Rapper of the Year: Masterbrain
  • Lifetime Achievement Award: Emeline Michel
  • Radio Host of the Year: Carel Pedre
  • Collabo of the Year : Roody Roodboy & Rutshelle
  • Corporate Social Responsibility  Award : Belo , Micheal Brun JPerry
  • Journalist Social Media Reporter of the Year: Verna Archange 
  • Promo Team of Year: Jley News
  • Lifetime Achievement Award : Emeline Michel
  • Konpa/Rap Collabo of the Year: Jbeatz & Wendy 
  • Producer / Beatmaker of the Year : T Ansyto 
  • TV Station of the Year: RTVC
  • Rapper of the Year: Wendyyy
  • Upcoming DJ of the Year:  DJ Bmix 
  • New Artist of the Year: Toby 
  • Rap Album of the Year: Indetronable by Wendyyy 
  • Male Artist of the Year: Fantom
  • Raboday of the Year: Tonymix
  • Female Artist of the Year : Rutshelle
  • Icon of the Year Award: Michel Martello


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s